Gigya Leaderboard

can i use deployment orders to break lease to move on post?

you will not be covered under the SCRA- so everything will depend on how your lease is written.

there should be a military clause in your lease, read it carefully.

if there is no military clause, you cannot get out of the lease at all. and will have to pay the termination fees or wait until your lease is up before you can move.

Schultz wrote:
As an ex-apartment manager, I will tell you it will all depend on you and the person you are renting from. Legally, you cannot break your lease just because your husband is deployed. In fact, even if you guys were PCS'ing, you don't have the legal right to break your lease without the contract stating so. This is why it is so important to consider everything when you sign and/or agree to signing a leasing contract. If you do decide to break your lease early, your leaser reserves the right to penalize you for doing so. This is for nearly anything, houses, cellphone services, TV services, apartments, cars etc. HOWEVER, taking it back to YOU and the person you are renting from... It is up to the sole discretion of your leaser. If you've been a good, reliable tenant, and the person has any heart at all, there is the possibility that they will let you out of the lease early without much, if any at all, penalties. As an example, they may decide to keep any deposits you made. When I've had particularly bad tenants I was not so nice when it came to breaking leases or even allowing late payments on their rent. When it came to good tenants, I'd let things slide a bit easier. I would approach them politely, explain your situation, but do not give too much detail. Ask them if it is possible to shorten or end your lease early. Considering this is a house and not an apartment, it may take the leaser a little longer to fill. If you'd be willing to consider it, ask to be released from your contract in 1-2 months that way it gives them time to find a new tenant a